Link to USGS home USGS Home
Contact USGS
Search USGS
USGS Hydroacoustics

USGS Hydroacoustics Work Group

The Hydroacoustic Work Group (HaWG) provides guidance to the Water Mission Area (WMA) regarding the support for and development of hydroacoustics instrumentation for use in streamflow, velocity, depth, and other hydraulic and hydrologic measurements. This guidance often takes the form of advice regarding technical issues that need to be addressed, work priorities, and funding for hydroacoustics within the WMA. The HaWG also facilitates communication between WMA and hydroacoustics users. It has rotational, permanent, ad hoc, and cooperating agency members. The rotational members serve 5-year terms.


Hydroacoustics Work Group

HaWG Wins Excellence in Leadership Award

The charter for the HaWG defines the purpose, composition, membership, responsibilities, and other aspects of the Work Group.

You can email the HaWG (GS-W_HaWG_All@usgs.gov) with questions and problems.

Current HaWG Members

Name Organizational Unit/Location Email Phone
Rotational Members
Heather Best Alaska Science Center, Fairbanks Office, Fairbanks, AK hbest@usgs.gov 907-687-9515
Chany Huddleston Adrianza New York WSC, Troy, NY chuddlestonadrianza@usgs.gov 518-912-4465
Mike Freeman West Valley City, UT mfreeman@usgs.gov 801-908-5012
Travis Knight Hydrologic Networks Branch, Fort Myers, FL tknight@usgs.gov 239-579-6068
Eric Marsjanik Coastal and Marine Geology Program, Woods Hole, MA emarsjanik@usgs.gov 508-457-2216
John Mazurek South Atlantic WSC, Asheville, NC jmazurek@usgs.gov 828-778-8508
Wesley Munck Oregon Water Science Center, Portland, OR wmunck@usgs.gov 503-251-3262
Garret Welsh Upper Midwest Water Science Center, Mounds View, MN gwelsh@usgs.gov 763-783-3147
Permanent Members
Mike Rehmel Office of Quailty Assurance, Indianapolis, IN msrehmel@usgs.gov 317-600-2758
Scott Kimball Hydrologic Instrumentation Facility, Stennis Space Center, MS skimball@usgs.gov 228-688-1589
Cooperating Agency Members
Tom Davie Environment and Climate Change Canada, Ottawa, Ontario Tom.Davie@ec.gc.ca 403-512-1235
John Goodson South Florida Water Management District, West Palm Beach, FL jgoodson@sfwmd.gov 561-682-2803

Photos of the HaWG

2014: The HaWG at the presentation of the Excellence in Leadership Award
Hydroacoustic Work Group members present included: Brandy Armstron, Nick Stasulis, David Mueller, Jason McVay, Jeff East, Kevin Oberg, Liz Hittle, Mike Rehmel, and Molly Wood.

2009: Paul-Emile Bergeron was a valued member of the HaWG from its inception until his untimely death in 2012.

2002: The HaWG at a meeting in Menlo Park, CA.
Those present included Hydroacoustic Work Group members: Phil Zyrmiak, Kevin Oberg, Brian Loving, John Goodson, Scott Morlock, John Shelton, Mike Rehmel, David Mueller, Victor Levesque, Paul-Emile Bergeron, Kirk Thibodeaux, Mike Simpson, and Jim DeRose.

2000: The HaWG at a meeting of the workgroup in Indianapolis, IN.
Hydroacoustic Work Group members present included: Scott Morlock, Phil Zyrmiak, Kevin Oberg, Mike Simpson, Victor Levesque, David Mueller, Steve Lipscomb, Kirk Thibodeaux, Paul-Emile Bergeron, and John Goodson.

1999: The HaWG at the Hydroacoustics Workshop in Tampa, FL.
Hydroacoustic Work Group members present included: Scott Morlock, Phil Zyrmiak, Kevin Oberg, Mike Simpson, Victor Levesque, David Mueller, Steve Lipscomb, Kirk Thibodeaux, Paul-Emile Bergeron, and John Goodson.

1997: HaWG members conducting testeing of Broadband ADCPs at the HIF Hydraulics Lab.
Mike Simpson, Paul-Emile Bergeron, and David Mueller are shown in this photo.

Areas of Expertise

Name

Areas of Expertise

Heather Best ADCP Discharge Measurements, Mid-Section Measurements, Ice Measurements, Remote Fieldwork Coordination
Chany Huddleston Adrianza ADCP discharge measurements, Index Velocity applications, Tidal Flows
Mike Freeman ADCP discharge measurements, Index velocity, Bidirectional flow
Scott Kimball Testing of Acoustic Instruments, Instrumentation and Electronics
Travis Knight ADCP Discharge Measurements, Index Velocity, Software Development
Eric Marsjanik Electrical Engineering and Advanced Data Collection Techniques
John Mazurek ADCP discharge measurements, Mid-section Measurements
Wesley Munck ADV and ADCP discharge measurements, Midsection Measurements and Field Testing
Mike Rehmel ADV and ADCP discharge measurements, Training Coordinator
Garret Welsh ADCP discharge measurements, Ice Measurements, Field Testing
Tom Davie ADCP discharge measurements, Sediment transport, Velocity mapping
John Goodson ADCP discharge measurements, Measurements near hydraulic structures